Life isn’t About Finding Yourself. Life is About Creating Yourself.

This week for her Monday Meme Berry wrote about her blogging milestones. Since my blog and my posting regularly is new in comparison – sort of a toddler to Berry’s adult – I decided that I probably wouldn’t have too much to say about milestones quite yet. So I am doing last week’s challenge this week and because I am doing so on a Monday, the procrastinator in me somehow feels as if I am on time. Yes, I know. My logic is skewed – welcome to my world.

So last week for her Monday Meme, Berry proposed making motivational posters for Second Life. You know the ones. They were up ALL over the place – doctor’s offices, schools, company lobbies… I think I may have even seen one in a public restroom at one time. You can see her post about the topic here. She even linked it to a nifty website that lets you turn you images into a poster.

I think my poster is a little on the hokey side…

SL Motivation Poster

… but I think it’s true. Flickr is filled with beautiful images people have created in SL. And sims, like the one I took this picture on, definitely inspire creativity. For those of you who are curious, the sim is called Salt Water and I have put a link below, along with some more landscape-ish pictures of the sim. Also of note is the pose prop I am using from Exposeur. I was still kicking ideas for this challenge around when I saw this set of frames at this round of Collabor88 and suddenly it all just came together in my head.

Here’s the image without the poster-y fun:

Me as Art There was a second part of this challenge – more or less the idea was to speak of things we do to motivate ourselves. And truth be told, I think that’s the part that had me putting this off. Sharing my personal feelings, while not as off putting for me as it can be for others, isn’t so much the issue for me as is the process of self-examination. I can put on a good face for everyone else, but I am not so good at lying to myself.

I have been through some pretty tough things through my life. Definitely not as tough as some and maybe some tougher than others, though “tough” doesn’t have a set meaning. What can be excruciating to an individual experiencing a certain situation, to the outsider who is just observing from a distance, it may not seem to be all that bad. Not everyone is equipped to handle all the circumstances of life with graciousness or aplomb. A little bit of empathy can mean a lot, even coming from virtual strangers and sometimes being as they are strangers, it can mean even more. Mostly I handle most things with humor. Something is bothering me and I slap a smile on my face and fake it til I make it.

But for when those times humor just isn’t quite working the way I need it to, I suppose the most common ways I deal are these:

1) I am a mom. Because of that I tend to just “suck it up” and work through what I need to silently because I have those that depend on me to not fall apart. Whether that entails power watching seasons of Buffy the Vampire Slayer or reading every book I can get my hands on or just taking a walk on the beach to clear my head – I just do it and move on as well and as quickly as I can.
2) When I get really bad, I will try to take a step back and think that it could be worse. Tell myself there are things in my life that are great, that I have people who love me, and that I am more than just my problems.
AND
3) I invest and imbibe, liberally, in good wines. 😉

Now comes the time in the post where I try to say something humorous to lighten the mood from the seriousness of what I’ve written. Instead this time I think I’ll take the somewhat juvenile route and just say … oooh look! Pretty pictures!  Salt Water - StairsSalt Water - Sunset ViewSalt Water - Grassy FieldSalt Water - CoveSee? Pretty inspiring huh? Take the tp below and see for yourself.

Sim to visit >>>

Salt Water

Song to listen to >>>

Over the Rainbow/Simple Gifts – Piano/Cello Cover by ThePianoGuys

Finn is wearing >>>

SKIN: Glam Affair – Sia skin (Fairy Tales)
BODY: Maitreya Mesh Body – Lara V2.1
HAIR: TRUTH – Daria – Black & Whites
FRECKLES: -Glam Affair – Candy – Freckles
HANDS & FEET: Slink
EARS: [MANDALA] Steking Ears
DRESS: Bueno – V-neck dress – Shadow [@ FaMESHed]
SHOES: Slink – Aussie Flip Flops
RING: EarthStones – Double Infinity Ring (Right hand)
Izzie’s – Initial Love Ring (Left hand) [@ With Love Fair]
BRACELET: Izzie’s – Favorite Pain Bracelet [Gacha @ With Love Fair]

POSE >>> Exposeur – Living Picture frame prop

Title quote by George Bernard Shaw

 

Leave a Reply

